14th Keepers of the Culture with Darrell Scott

14th Annual Keepers of the Culture Presentation with special performance by Darrell Scott

– Acclaimed songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Darrell Scott will appear at the 2012 Keepers of the Culture awards presentation, 7:00 p.m. Tuesday, November 13, at the Lowry Family Theater of McCelvey Center, 212 E. Jefferson St. in York.
As one of Nashville’s most in-demand session musicians, Darrell Scott has collaborated with renowned artist Sam Bush, Emmylou Harris, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Tim O’Brien, Lucinda Williams, Joan Baez and countless others.  Also a gifted songwriter, Scott has written hit songs for Nashville’s finest – Garth Brooks, Tim McGraw, Faith Hill and Brad Paisley, to name a few — and, in 2003, he was nominated for a Grammy Award® for Best Country Song in 2003 for “Long Time Gone” performed by the Dixie Chicks.
Scott’s appearance kicks off the 2012-13 McCelvey Center Southern Sound Series and is part of the Culture & Heritage Museums’ Keepers of the Culture Awards Ceremony honoring individuals who possess a deep commitment to preserving, communicating, and connecting our cultural, natural, and historical heritage in the community.  Since 1999, the CHM has celebrated deserving citizens whose achievements have helped to preserve cultural heritage in our region.

The 2012 Keepers of the Culture are Allan M. Miller, Pat Veasey and Joe Zdenek.
An early FM country music disc-jockey, civically-active Allan M. Miller made South Carolina radio history in 1968 when he programmed the state’s first fulltime FM Country Music station. He also became a significant songwriter with charted singles and movie soundtrack credits.  As an active member of the York County community, Miller has served as emcee or auctioneer at hundreds of charity events/activities. His four decades of volunteer work include service as President and Chairman of many boards and organizations including the South Carolina Broadcasters Association, the Come-See-Me Board and Festival, the York County Culture and Heritage Commission, the American Cancer Society and as a York County Regional Chamber of Commerce Board member. Miller is the current Chairman of the South Carolina Broadcaster’s Foundation Scholarship Committee, President of the Board of Governors for Rock Hill’s ChristmasVille festival and Chair of the Culture & Heritage Museums’ Vernon Grant Advisory Committee.  He is a South Carolina Broadcaster’s Hall of Fame inductee and in 2011 was recognized with the 2011 Rock Hill Chamber of Commerce Businessman of the Year Award.
A tireless and dedicated volunteer, Pat Veasey is a consummate educator.  For over 35 years, Veasey has encouraged learners young and old to experience history and explore it hands-on.  For twelve years Veasey worked as Director of Education & Programs at Historic Brattonsville.  Following her retirement in 2002, she continued her research and scholarship and shares her passion for history and education with others through articles, papers, workshops and symposia, in addition to serving as guest curator for various exhibitions for the Culture & Heritage Museums.
A former Winthrop University Spanish Professor and chairman of the Modern & Classical Language Department, Joe Zdenek embodies volunteerism.  Since retiring from Winthrop in 1992, Joe has immersed himself in the community with his involvement in countless organizations including the Sierra Club, The Museum of York County, York County Literacy Association, Kiwanis Club and Pilgrims’ Inn to name a few.  An avid watercolorist, Zdenek has committed himself to using his talents to the benefit of others through contributions of artwork to raise funds for organizations such as The Yorkville Artist Guild, Arts Council of York County, SCETV and others.
COST:   $14 CHM members, $17 non-members. For ticket information, call 803.329.2121, ext 126.

14th Annual Keepers of the Culture Award Ceremony
7:00 p.m. Tuesday, November 13, 2012
McCelvey Center
212 E. Jefferson St., York, SC